This post may contain affiliate links. Please see the policies page for more information.
If you want to know which cooking equipment and ingredients I use, then shop my kitchen items!
First and foremost I’d like to say that I love sushi. Sushi is one of my favorite foods but it can be expensive to order at a restaurant and making it at home seemed like a lot of work. Well not anymore! For this post, I wanted to simplify sushi as much as possible which is why I’ve broken this recipe down into 10 ingredients. This veggie sushi recipe is also vegan and contains easy instructions to make it gluten-free. Enjoy!
10 Simple Ingredients for Making Veggie Sushi
- Nori Seaweed Sheets
- Sushi Rice
- Firm, Extra Firm, or Super Firm Tofu
- Bell Pepper
- Large Carrot
- Soy Sauce, Tamari, or Coconut Aminos
- Rice Vinegar
- Sesame Oil
How To Make Veggie Sushi Gluten-Free
If you have celiac disease or just prefer gluten-free cooking, then it will be no surprise to hear about all of the ways food can be cross contaminated to include glutenous ingredients. But for someone like myself that does not have food allergies, I’m in disbelief to find out just how many foods can secretly contain gluten. Many ingredients that I routinely use such as oats, rice, soy sauce, vinegars, all contain or come in contact with gluten unless otherwise stated on the packaging.
When I was developing this recipe, I wanted to make it as simple as possible, but also include instructions, for anyone with food allergies. The below explanation is a break down of why some ingredients are not considered gluten-free and how you can easily make this recipe gluten-free.
- Nori Seaweed Sheets: Nori seaweed sheets are typically gluten-free since seaweed is naturally gluten-free. Some seaweed sheets contain added soy sauce or tamari. Soy sauce and tamari are not gluten-free unless specifically stated on the packaging. To ensure that your seaweed sheets are gluten-free, look for the the certified gluten-free symbol on the packaging or opt for seaweed sheets that only contain seaweed as the listed ingredient.
- Sushi Rice: Sushi rice, or just plain rice, isn’t always gluten-free. In its natural form, rice is gluten-free; but just like oats, rice can be cross contaminated with wheat ingredients and no longer be considered safe or gluten-free for people with celiac disease/related food allergies. For gluten-free sushi rice, choose the product that contains the certified gluten-free label on the packaging.
- Rice Vinegar: Rice vinegar can be a tricky ingredient for gluten-free cooking if you’re not careful. Some manufacturers do not list additional wheat additives such as barley malt. For gluten-free rice vinegar, make sure the certified gluten-free label is displayed on the packaging.
- Soy Sauce/Tamari: Soy sauce and tamari often contain gluten or come in contact with wheat during manufacturing. For a gluten-free version, look for the certified gluten-free label on the packaging or opt for coconut aminos since it is naturally gluten-free.
Quick Tips for Make Veggie Sushi
- When adding the vinegar, sugar, and soy sauce mixture to the rice make sure that you don’t mash the rice. Gently fold the liquid mixture into the rice until well combined.
- To prevent the rice from sticking to your hands when pressing it into the seaweed sheet, have a bowl of water nearby. Dip your hands into the water before grabbing the rice and between sushi rolls to make them easier to form.
- After the sushi rolls have been made, tightly wrap each one in plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for a minimum of 4 hours or overnight if possible. This will help the sushi hold together when you cut them into pieces.
- Can I use any type of rice for this recipe?
No. Sushi rice is ideal for making sushi rolls because of its size and starch content. Other types of rice may dry out quicker and crumble/fall apart. Sushi rice is also best for making sushi because it holds its shape well and doesn’t easily turn into mush when mixing in other ingredients.
- Can I leave out the tofu?
Yes! I really love the tofu within this recipe because it adds a savory, meat-like flavor and texture to the sushi, but it’s an optional ingredient. If you would like to skip the steps for the tofu and just do rice and veggies, that’s good, too!
- Can I make this recipe if I’m not gluten-free?
Yes! This recipe contains gluten-free cooking instructions and brief notes for anyone that wants to make their sushi gluten-free. If you don’t have celiac disease or don’t care whether it contains gluten or not, then don’t worry about buying gluten-free ingredients. I am not gluten-free but I include dietary alterations for anyone with a wheat allergy.
- I see coconut aminos listed as alternative to soy sauce/tamari. What is it?
Coconut aminos is just a sauce that’s nearly identical to soy sauce/tamari in taste and consistency. It’s derived from coconuts which makes it a gluten-free alternative to soy sauce and tamari. Coconut aminos also have far less sodium compared to soy sauce/tamari.
- Can I make the sushi rice in a rice/pressure cooker or stovetop pot?
Yes! I’ve included instructions for both in the recipe information below.
Want more easy veggie recipes? Check out the links below!
- Rainbow Veggie Wraps
- Lemon Pasta with Asparagus and Mushrooms
- Rainbow Spring Rolls with Ginger Peanut Sauce
- Soy Sauce: You can use tamari or coconut aminos as a substitution for soy sauce if you prefer. If you’re trying to make gluten-free sushi, I would recommend you substitute coconut aminos or use certified gluten-free tamari as a substitution for soy sauce.
- Sesame Oil: You can use another type of oil such as vegetable/canola oil, olive oil, peanut oil, or avocado oil if you prefer.
- Tofu: You can use either firm, extra firm, or super firm tofu for this recipe. Firm tofu has more liquid than extra firm or super firm tofu and will require longer pressing time to remove the excess liquid.
Products for this recipe (Sold through Amazon)Print